Press Release
Contact Information: Hussein Ibish
June 7, 2007 - 12:00am

Washington, D.C., June 8 -- The American Task Force on Palestine today welcomed a Congressional resolution that reaffirms the United States? commitment to Israeli-Palestinian peace in the context of a two-state solution to the conflict.

The resolution, cosponsored by Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Richard Lugar (R-IN), Christopher Dodd D-CT, Chuck Hagel (R-NE), Max Baucus (D-MT), Robert Byrd (D-WV), John Sununu (R-NH), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) reaffirms the United States' "commitment to a true and lasting solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, based on the establishment of two states, Israel and Palestine, living side by side in peace and security, and with recognized borders." The resolution denounces violence and terror while reaffirming the U.S.'s "unwavering commitment to Israel's security," and "calls on President Bush to pursue a robust diplomatic effort to engage the Israelis and Palestinians, begin negotiations, and make a two-state settlement a top priority." It urges the appointment of a dedicated envoy for Middle-East Peace and calls on leaders in Israel, Palestine, and the Arab world to take logical, moderate steps to usher in a settlement.

"We applaud this move by the Congress to support the foundations of peaceful resolution," said ATFP president Dr. Ziad Asali of the resolution, "An engaged and balanced approach is critical to empowering moderates and building safety and security for Palestine, Israel, and the United States. We sincerely hope that other lawmakers will join with their colleagues on this resolution."


American Task Force on Palestine - 1634 Eye St. NW, Suite 725, Washington DC 20006 - Telephone: 202-262-0017